thepeacockspeaks

Identity crisis

Posted on: January 20, 2012

The pain I feel when I believe

that I am someone I am not

The emotional roller coaster ride

that is tearing me apart

Am I doing the right thing

I ask myself all along

with answers that confuse my head

I just carry on…

I am changing, this I know

I am not the same person I was

some days ago,

things have changed

and I have had to move on

but it’s difficult to take the leap

Scared unsure of every step

I take out of my comfort zone

This is not who I was once

is this who I am now?

The judgement I pass about myself

is always cruel, so harsh, so low

I would have never done this once upon a time

but why does it not seem so wrong now?

Have I changed to something I am not

or has my definition of myself changed?

It is so confusing to be in conflict with myself

just praying that this wont leave me deranged

I thank those who are there

to hear my woeful tales

All I need is a patient ear

when everything else fails

But this time it is up to me

to push myself to the extreme

for once to make up my mind

about who I really am…

Then again I will never know for sure

for my judgement feels so clouded

with the smoke of society’s opinion

and all the voices in my head crowded

But I guess that is life in all..

in the end there will never be a “for sure..”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Some favorite lines…

This too shall pass..
- Anonymous

Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.
- Calvin Coolidge

